Fight Like A Girl

Fight Like A Girl

I don’t talk much about my life outside SL. I’m a bit of a private person and I tend to keep my struggles to myself, rather that chance being a burden on someone else, since I know everyone has their own problems to deal with. I’m more of a listener and less of a sharer.

It’s Breast Cancer Awareness month and this is the first year it’s really hit home for me.  I can remember the first time it was someone I knew. I was in middle school, maybe just starting high school, and a favorite elementary school teacher was diagnosed. I believe she died shortly thereafter. Since then, I’ve supported co-workers and friends through their fight with breast cancer, whether it was them personally or their families.

This summer it was one of my aunts. She found a lump in her breast and the biopsy came back malignant. She’s had a mastectomy since then, and will undergo radiation therapy to make sure they got all of it.  I’m equally proud of her and worried at the same time. Even though the survival rate is high and the medical technology has surpassed what existed 20 years ago, one more diagnosis is still one too many.

-Kaiden-

Hair: Truth (by Truth Hawks) – Kora – Browns (previous Epiphany item)
Mesh Head: Catwa (by Catwa Clip) – Amy V4.9 
Mesh Body: Maitreya (by Onyx LeShelle) – Lara V3.5
Skin appliers: Belleza (by Shyla Diggs) – Sara – Tan
Top: Blueberry (by Blueberryxx) – Georgina Yoga Tops – Cherry
Pants: Blueberry (by Bluberryxx) – Yoga Pants – Black

Gloves: Miss Canning (by Lisle Canning) – Boxing Gloves – Pink 
Punching bag with pose: Standby Inc. (by Sho Kenin) – Marshall Punching Bag
Weight Bench & weights: PILOT (by Kaz Nayar) -Morello Weight Bench
Skybox: Syke Studio (by Alex Bader) – Tokyo Loft Skybox

Go to http://www.cancer.org/ for more information on how to support those fighting.

Leave a Reply

